Mysore Style

Mysore Style

Mysore Style Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga is traditionally conveyed through the “Mysore” style, a deeply impactful approach to learning and embracing the practice. The term “Mysore” pays homage to the city in Southern India where Sri K. Pattabhi Jois, the founder of Ashtanga Yoga, lived, studied, and dedicated his life to teaching.

In the Mysore style, the practice is akin to supervised self-practice. Asanas, or postures, are introduced and taught individually, allowing students to methodically memorize the sequence with confidence and comfort. This gradual approach empowers practitioners to navigate the practice with a profound sense of self-assuredness, stability, and serenity. Under the guidance of an experienced teacher, students advance at their own pace, and the practice is tailored to meet each individual’s unique needs and capabilities.

We extend a warm welcome to students of all levels in our Mysore class. This method accommodates practitioners regardless of their experience, and it offers specialized attention and guidance to those who may require it. Our commitment is to meet the diverse needs of our students to the best of our abilities.

When commencing your journey, we recommend a minimum commitment of one month, practicing a minimum of three times a week. This approach accelerates and deepens the learning process, providing a solid foundation for your Ashtanga Yoga practice.

Introduction to Ashtanga Yoga

Our Introduction to Ashtanga Yoga class is tailored for those new to yoga or interested in exploring the classical Ashtanga method. We provide thorough guidance through the initial stages of the practice, introducing conscious breathing, sun salutations, and basic closing postures. This class offers an opportunity to ask questions while gaining fundamental knowledge of both the physical and spiritual dimensions of Ashtanga Yoga. All levels of experience are welcome, making it suitable for those new to the practice.

Ashtanga Yoga Foundation

The Ashtanga Yoga Foundation class is designed to establish a strong base within the practice, catering to individuals who have been introduced to the method and seek further guidance. Here, students are led by the teacher and encouraged to explore segments of the practice independently, fostering a deeper understanding of the sequence. This class includes precise instructions on posture alignment, breath-linked movement, challenging asanas, and an enhanced grasp of the practice’s internal benefits. The instruction encompasses sun salutations, standing and seated asanas, up to Marīcāsana A, and various finishing asanas.

Ashtanga Yoga Primary Series

Half Primary Series

In the Half Primary Series class, you’ll engage with the flow of the Ashtanga Yoga Primary Series practice, covering the sequence up to Nāvāsana. The instruction flows steadily with minimal interruptions. Prior exposure to the Ashtanga Yoga practice is recommended to fully benefit from this class.

Led Primary Series

For a comprehensive Ashtanga Yoga experience, our Led Primary Series class guides you through the complete Primary Series, emphasizing the traditional vinyasa method, and counting in Sanskrit from start to finish. This class offers an uninterrupted flow of the practice. Prior proficiency in Ashtanga Yoga is recommended, and it’s best suited for intermediate and advanced practitioners; beginners are kindly requested not to attend.

Sequences of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga

The practice of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga typically commences with five repetitions of Surya Namaskara A and B sequences, followed by a standing posture sequence. From there, practitioners advance through one of six series of postures, concluding with a standard closing sequence.

These six series include:

  • The Primary Series, known as Yoga Chikitsa, focuses on yoga for health and therapy.
  • The Intermediate Series, often referred to as Nadishodhana or the “second series.”
  • The Advanced Series, denoted as Sthira Bhaga, emphasizing the centering of strength.
  • Advanced A, constituting the third series.
  • Advanced B, comprising the fourth series.
  • Advanced C, encompassing the fifth series.
  • Advanced D, involving the sixth series.

Initially, the Ashtanga Vinyasa syllabus featured four series: primary, intermediate, advanced A, and advanced B. A fifth series, known as the “Rishi series,” was introduced by Pattabhi Jois and was intended for practitioners who had mastered the preceding four series.